OTLEY may not have picked up the much-coveted Naylor-Jennings Trophy and Howard Stott Pennant as 2023 Aire-Wharfe League Division One champions.

That honour, at the league’s annual dinner at Headingley, went to Collingham & Linton, with Otley collecting the Jack Sullivan Cup as league runners-up.

However, the Cross Greeners did have the consolation of being presented or re-presented with 11 trophies or awards – more than any other club.

They had the top first XI and second XI wicket-keeper in Paul Nicholson and Chris Halliday respectively, and did another double in Division Four with the batting (Andrew Rhodes) and bowling awards (Samuel Boyden).

And Otley’s third XI did not miss out either, with Jake Ross taking the Division Two bowling award to go with his Eddie Nelson award as the leading player in the Joe Lumb Competition, part of the Yorkshire Junior Cricket Festival (YJCF).

Ollie Mooney won the equivalent under-13 award, while Josh Atkinson collected that Jack Sullivan Cup trophy to go alongside George Hughes taking the Awards Galore Trophy as winners of Division Two for third XIs.

That only left the Ian Chappell Cup (third teams’ knockout trophy), which was also collected by Hughes, while William Knowles took the Denis Kirkbright Trophy as man of the match.

Guiseley and Burley were no slouches either, collecting four and three awards or trophies respectively.

Burley’s Connor Dunphy was the Aire-Wharfe Junior League’s JP Scally Trophy as the YJCF under-11 player of the year, while Matthew Burnham took the equivalent award, the David Greenwood Trophy, for under-15s.

In addition, Burley won the Division Five title, the JC Stone Trophy, which was collected by Stuart Dibb.

Guiseley’s Bill Darby took the Division Three wicket-keeping trophy, the JC Clapham Trophy, for third XIs, while George Cooper collected the Denys Bull Trophy as winners of Division One.

They also had success on a Saturday, with Rob Thomas winning the Boddy-Walker Trophy for Division Five batting, while the Division Three championship, the JK Harrison Trophy, was collected by skipper Rob Butterfield.

Menston collected two awards – the YJCF’s under-12 player of the year in Sam Dowsland and the Division Five bowling award, the Jubilee Trophy, for Adam Pothecary.

Addingham won the Fair Play Trophy – the only award to be kept under wraps – while Horsforth Hall Park’s Michael Loubser’s reward for a fantastic season with the bat was the Eddie Nelson Trophy for Division One.

Ilkley’s Nick Schofield won the Division Two bowling award, the Barritt-Newbould Trophy, while Horsforth’s Nick Taylor took the Division Six bowling award, the Millennium Trophy.

Olicanian lifted the Eddie Nelson Memorial Shield as under-13 six-a-side champions,

The dinner was attended by 243 people, and the chief guest was former Leeds United and Scotland footballer Eddie Gray MBE.