MENSTON Crompark suffered a batting collapse in their Wynn Cup mini-league fixture at home to Denholme.

The visitors chose to bat in this Mewies Solicitors Craven League fixture but only scored 121, most of which came from skipper Adam Taylor (39) and keeper Adam Khan (30).

It looked as if Crompark would be facing a higher total as Denholme were 97-3 but Andrew Morgan (4-13) and Adam Dunhill (2-25) were instrumental in the last seven wickets falling for just 24 runs.

Crompark found things even tougher when they faced, however, and only three players made double figures – Robert Hodgson (13), Chris Boyes (15) and Tom Holder (10) – as they were rolled over for 77 to lose by 44 runs.

Menston Crompark’s second team were involved in John Clayton Cup action against Haworth II at Cononley, with West Lane being out of action due to the 1940s weekend.

Crompark won the toss and batted and made a decent 156, with openers Tim Yeardley and Mark Cooper both scoring 33 and No 3 Jim Moor 29, the first-wicket pair putting on 79.

Only Joseph Astbury (12) reached double figures after that, however.

Haworth captain Gareth Griffiths (32) and keeper Tom Loynes (41) put on 73 for the third wicket but they slumped from 103-2 to 106-5 before Adrian Ratcliffe (13) and Danny Spencer (23no) added a vital 33 for the sixth wicket.

Crompark then reduced Haworth to 146-8 before Spencer and Craig Shoesmith (9no) put on 14 unbroken to win by two wickets with just one ball to spare.

Ali Asghar (3-25) and Owen Pothecary (2-17), both off eight overs, did best with the ball for Crompark.