OTLEY, who finished a disappointing 39 points behind champions Saltaire last season, are aiming for a much stronger campaign this season in the Aire-Wharfe League, which starts on Saturday (April 16).

The Division One club have signed Australian Charlie Simondson from Fitzroy Doncaster, they have Kieron Hanogue rejoining them from Yeadon after a loan spell at Cross Green in 2020 and have captured Christy Byrne from Fleetwood Hesketh.

Also joining Otley after loan spells, this time last season, are Ilkley trio Simon and Jake Ross and James Knight.

There have also been changes at the top, with Chris Smith replacing the long-serving Michael Rhodes as club president, with Alex Atkinson taking Smith’s previous role as chairman.

Rawdon, third last season, have a new skipper in prolific batsman Ben Morley, while opening the bowling will be Tyler Willmott from Tasmania.

Nathan Goldthorp has joined from Otley, while Ryan Gladwin has returned after a two-year ‘rest’.

Burley, who finished a place below Rawdon, have handed Richard Brook the captaincy, replacing Red Bolton, who is now also club chairman.

Addingham, hoping to improve on their seventh place, also have a new skipper in Ben Brearley, who takes over from Ted Haggas, with Richard Atkins an experienced vice-captain.

Ilkley, ninth in 2021, have had plenty on their plate this winter with the damage caused by storms Eunice and Franklin, which affected not only their ground, but their clubhouse, perimeter fencing and tackle shed.

Flood gates have now been fitted, a perimeter wall erected and drainage work done, while a JustGiving page has been set up to raise funds for a new clubhouse.

Their overseas player is James Deighton from Melbourne, while batsman Ryan Clarke has joined from Upper Wharfedale.

Olicanian, whose new pavilion will be opened on May 22, are also celebrating their centenary with a series of events from July 9-17, and what better way to celebrate than gaining promotion from Division Two after relegation in 2021?

Will Parker and Corrie Keable have signed from Harrogate, while Ryan Morley, a batsman from Victoria, is their overseas player.

Horsforth, who also went down, have strengthened their links with Queensland club Sandgate Redcliffe, who again provide them with their overseas player.

Horsforth Hall Park went in the opposite direction by gaining promotion as runners-up in Division Two, and have a strong line-up that includes Andrew Bairstow, Tom Lester and former Undercliffe player Michael Loubser from South Africa.

John Brough has signed from Otley, while Tom and Alfie Spencer are also new recruits.

Green Lane, who just missed out in climbing into the top flight, have a new skipper in Nadeem Safdar and new signings in Nadeem Khan and Deepal Dissanayake.

Pool have retained Kruthik Patel as their overseas player, while former overseas player Kervon Christmas is back, this time as a UK resident.

Menston, champions of Division Four last time out, have signed Thiroshin Naidoo as their overseas player, and have Rob Binley joining from St Chad’s and Rob Hodgson from Bolton Abbey. Guiseley, who called 2021 the lowest point in the club’s history as their teams were relegated to divisions Three and Five, have Robert Butterfield as first-team skipper.