THE sun shone down on the E.S. Myers Trophy Trial at Skyrakes where 100 trials rider battled with a frosty two-mile lap and 14 observed sections.

Unbelievably, four hard course contenders managed to ride the course and end on a single figure penalty score.

For Dougie Lampkin and Richard Sadler that score happened to be zero.

For Lampkin and Vertigo, the highest flying award at section one and 14 was a bonus.

Not quite as high as the paragliders circling above, though, watching the action below.

Ben Hemingway was on track to match cousin Lampkin until he dropped a boot in section nine where Gary Rushton observed or section 11 where Nick Jefferies was recording the scores.

The 50-50 route also brought in tight scores where chimney sweep Phillip Hammond just brushed aside building supplies director Neil Gaunt and James Moorhouse.

The scoring pattern persisted on the easy route where Tom Green won the class on a tiebreaker from Tony Holmes and Richard Crabtree.

In view of the Artic weather prevailing the organisers split in the marking out duties.

Nathan Wrigglesworth, Sam Boocock and Ethan Chapman plotted the west ridge overlooking Gargrave where sun lifted frost off the rocks - slightly.

The Ayrton trio, Lucy, Anthony and Brian and Simon Hodson marked the east ravine where the going was soft and muddy and the sun did not do much good either.

The penalties soared from section nine onwards and only Carena Carter and Julie Cooper at the final two sections managed any sunbathing.

And the rides of the day? Charlie Smith and Harry Hemingway on the hard route which yielded top novice and top and only youth.

Elliott Laws won Class in the 50/509 class while Alfie Lampkin listened to his father’s instructions to win Class A youth.

Skipton’s Josh Pearson was the top boy on the easy route, finishing seventh out of 39 starters. Only downside was the amount of riders and the first five sections as a consequence of what seemed to be a mass start.

Results: Hard course: Experts: =1 Dougie Lampkin (Vertigo)/Richard Sadler (Gas Gas) p, 3 Ben Hemingway (Beta) 2.

Inters: 1 Tom Rushton (Vertigo) 17, 2 Thomas Housecroft (Vertigo) 17, Sam Boocock (Sherco) 35.

Novices: 1 Charlie Smith (Beta) 15, 2 William Tolson (Beta) 7, 3 Danny Smith (Beta) 19.

Youth Class A: Harry Hemingway (Beta) 24.

50/50 course: Novices: 1 Phillip Hammond (Sherco) 10, 2 Neil Gaunt (Beta) 11, 3 James Moorhouse (Beta) 13.

Over 40s: 1 Rob McNeil (Beta) 27, 2 Neil Savage (Gas Gas) 31, 3 Peter Sharp (Beta) 35.

Youth Class A: 1 Elliott Laws (Vertigo) 21, 2 Richard Pullen (Scorpa) 38.

Youth Class B: 1 Alfie Lampkin (Beta) 29, 2 Max Chadwick (Beta) 31, 3 George Hemingway (Beta) 34.

Easy course: Novices: 1 Tom Green (TRS) 16, 2 Tony Holmes (Beta) 16, 3 Mark Chippendale (Beta) 16.

Over 40s: 1 Dave Lamin (Beta) 30, 2 William Wood (Beta) 56.

Youth Class B: 1 Josh Pearson (Beta) 23, 2 Lucy Ayrton (TRS) 92.

Youth Class C: 1 Jamie Sharp (Beta) 85, 2 Fraser Lampkin (Beta) 96, 3 Harrison Lightfoot (Beta) 105.