AIRECENTRE Pacers kicked off a busy weekend of events with their annual general meeting and awards ceremony held at Guiseley Theatre.

The current committee were largely re-elected unopposed with just two new appointments – Phil Bland takes over as press liaison officer and Helen Ilman appointed as the new social media secretary.

Thanks were expressed to the retiring press liaison team of Tom Gifford, Helen Alcock and Francesca Gatenby.

It was reported the club's hugely-successful Chevin Chase race, run on Boxing Day each year, had filled completely within two hours of entries being opened. Planning for this year's edition was well advanced.

The guest speaker at the awards ceremony was Angela Hulley who, as Angela Pain, was a top flight marathon runner for Team GB in the 1980s and 90s.

An Olympian at the Seoul Olympics she finished 10th in 2:30:51 and won a host of other elite races with Bronze at Commonwealth Games and World championships in Auckland and Rome.

The annual awards ceremony presented trophies to those who had excelled in various race distances throughout the year – 5k, 10k, 10-mile, half-marathon and full marathon.

Male award winners were Andrew Humphries, Owain Gwilym, Andrew Smith, Richard Walker, Simon Molyneux, Ewen Pearson, Paul Grindley, Nick Leathley and Andy Gledhill.

Female winners were Francesca Gatenby, Helen Alcock, Faye Cameron, Jen Sebright - Pickard, Rhona Neilson, Emma Sebright-Pickard, Sarah Podesta, Susan Hule, Sally Haigh, Isobel Hainsworth-Brear, Carole Keighley, Debbie Bland and Charlotte Connolly-Hall.

Pacer of the Year was Lynne Morris with most promising newcomers Simon Molyneaux and Katie Hill. Most improved runners – Sally Russ and Adrian Williams.

An outstanding achievement award went to Debbie Bland for her consistent winning performances throughout the year having completed 60 races and won her age group in 52 of them.

The Chevin Chase Handicap Shield was awarded to Amanda Connolly and the Lord Archer Shield to Dorothy Darnborough and Paul Grindley.

Pacers were back in racing action again the following Sunday when a strong team took part in the first PECO Cross-Country race of the season held in the grounds of Temple Newsam House, Leeds.

Hugely popular with local clubs, more than 1,000 runners took part (562 men and 470 women).

The senior races of approximately five miles and the two Junior events of one mile and two miles were hotly contested with Pacers acquitting themselves well.

Men's results were: Andrew Humphries 31.01 (37th), Richard Walker 33.29 (110th), Owain Gwilym 35.58 (196th) William Woodhead 39.06 (299th) Simon Molyneaux 40.06 (335th), Chris Hill 43.16 (429th), Liam Oliver 45.23 (467th), Simon Walker 50.40 (525th).

Ladies results: Kate McFarlane 39.02 (54th), Sally Haigh 42.40 (115th), Faye Cameron 46.14 (208th), Sarah Podesta 46.25 (215th), Helen Waite 50.31(329th), Carly Dykes 51.47 (349th), Carole Keighley 52.06 (358th) & Dorothy Darnborough 53.50 (384th)

Junior one-mile event: Evie Walker 9.03 & Monty Walker 9.34.

Overall race winners were Nathan Edmondson (Ilkley) 27.13 and Alice Leake (Leeds City) 31.26.