GUISELEY AFC Academy ended their league season with a 5-1 win at Farsley Celtic to confirm their status as National League Under-19 Alliance Division One champions by a nine-point margin from York City.

They now go into the Alliance Champion of Champions Knock-out Trophy, in which the champions of each of the divisions play. Their first game in this competition is next Wednesday at home to either Mansfield Town or Stamford.

Against Farsley, their 18th win in 20 league games, Jack Lazenby netted his first goal of the season to become the side’s 17th goal scorer of the season.

The Academy have scored 80 goals so far in their league campaign with a further 29 in cup games taking them over the 100 mark. Goals have come from: Jake Young (now with Sheffield United) 16, Kieron Ceesay 14, Aleks Starcenko 12, Tabish Hussain 10, Adam Haw 9, Luke Hogg 8, Rafael Marques Ferreira 8, Mustapha Coker 7, Lewis Collett 6, Charlie Heath 5, Luke Waddington 5, Robbie Fox 4, Nathan Newall 4, Akram Aliyu 2, Lewis Jackson 2, Craig Hall 2, Jack Lazenby 1.

The Academy’s Centre of Excellence Under-16s had a very mixed season with a lot of changes in the squad.

The Under-15s had an outstanding season, winning the Junior Premier Northern Elite League and will play the Southern winners in the National Final.

The Under-13s and Under-14s have faired well in the Junior Premier League’s Yorkshire Division. These are newly formed sides who have shown progress as the season has progressed.

The Under-13s, who have a number of Under-12s playing for them, have a chance of winning the JPL Yorkshire League and the Under-14s are in the last eight of the JPL National Cup, and play West Ham United DC away on Saturday.

Head of Academy Dave Currie said: “The coaches and players of every team have been excellent. We have a really experienced and high quality group of coaches now and as we grow we will start to attract the best young local players and that is a positive. Hopefully the players will be able to see the progression into the first team and follow in the footsteps of Scott Smith and Nathan Newall who have came through the Centre of Excellence.”