A NUMBER of officers were elected at the 112th annual general meeting of Otley Golf Club held last Wednesday.

After business had been transacted, Winifred Varley, was elected as president and Ian Lomas and Gillian Mowat as gentlemen’s and ladies’ captains, respectively.

All three long-serving members promised to serve and represent the club to the best of their ability.

On the Sunday following the AGM, a number of members, family and friends gathered on the first tee to witness the Captains’ Drive-In.

This event also included Finley Power and Lydia Derbyshire, who are the joint junior captains.

All the captains struck exquisite drives and following the Drive-In, all members were invited to join the captains for lunch.

Ailsa Bearpark won the midweek nine-hole stableford competition with 26 points. Malcolm Spencer was second one point behind.

Chris Hardaker amassed the best points total in the ladies stableford, played over 15 holes. Her 30 points in Division Four was considerably more than the 30 points scored by Pauline Padden, Cathy Lamb and Ritsuko Corless.

Results were: Division One: J Ettenfield – 28 points; M Wilkinson – 28 points; S Ridyard – 25 points; Division Two: P Padden – 30 points; S Fordham – 29 points; J Smith – 29 points; Division Three: C Lamb – 30 points; R Corless – 30 points; R Copley – 27 points; Division Four: C Hardaker – 36 points.

Nine-hole competition winner – B Cowling – 11 points.