Tom Adams was victorious for the second year in a row at the 24th Ilkley Moor fell race.

The Ilkley Harriers ace romped round the course in 35min 54sec and was over two minutes clear of second-placed Sam Watson of Wharfedale Harriers and within 30 seconds of the 2004 record.

James Mountain of Skipton AC was third overall also taking the under 23 prize.

Ilkley’s men won the team prize led in by Adams who was backed up by Martin Archer, Dave Wilby and Lee Morley.

Emma Clayton of Bingley Harriers smashed her own record to retain the ladies prize in 42:03, closely followed by under-23 runner Annabel Mason of Wakefield Harr- iers and Helen Fines of Calder Valley FR.

Ilkley’s Emma Barclay, Kate Archer and Alison Weston just missed out on the ladies team prize to Wharfedale. Otley’s Sam Stell finished 16th in 43:11, Graham Lake was 41st (47:22), Mark Beswick 97th (52:51), Andy Webster 152nd (58:30), Pange Srivastava 213th (72:55) and Don Buffham 216th (75:44).

The junior races were well supported and there was some fine results for the host club.

There was double delight for Ilkley Harriers in the under-16 girls event where Lucy Haines and Lucy Williamson were first and second respectively. Eleanor Robinson (Keighley & Craven) was third.

Beth Morley of Ilkley won the under-12 girls race in 7:59 and Robyn Anderson led the field home in the under-eight girls race in 5:08.

Otley had 16 runners over three age groups taking part in the popular event.

In the U12 1-mile race William O'Neil finished in 8:50 followed by Izzy Dixon 9:59, Imogen Webster 11:25, Farrel Copcutt 11:46 and Ava Wild 14:32.

Ben Green (Rossendale) won with a new course record of 7:10.

Under-12 boys: 1 Ben Green (Rossendale), 2 Lucas Parker (Pennine Fell Runners), 3Oliver Rees (Holmfirth).

Under-12 girls: 1 Beth Morley (Ilkley Harriers), 2 Katie Atkinson (Keighley & Craven), 3 Lucy Shutt (Bingley).

Ilkley Harrier Bramham Butts was third in the under-10 boys.

Otley was most strongly repre sented in the under-10 age group.

Adam Powell 9:55 was closely followed by Jenson Brogden 9:58, Jake McBrinn 10:04, Dan McMorrow 10:24, Harry Gibson 11:07, Holly Davey 11:35, Jake Powell 11:55 and Joel Mundet Poole 12:13.

The race was won by Joseph Carnelley (Bingley Harriers) in 7:48 and the first girl was Lauryn Gregg (Rochdale Harriers) in 9:23.

Under-10 boys: 1 Joseph Carnelley (Bingley), 2 Will Atkinson (Keighley & Craven), 3Joe Bramham Butts (Ilkley Harriers).

Under-10 girls: 1 Lauryn Gregg (Rochdale Harriers), 2 Charlotte Barrett (Wharfedale), 3 Lucy Fryers (Keighley & Craven). In the under-eight half-mile race Christopher Brown (Clayton Le Moors) took first place for the boys in 4:05.

Otley’s Connor Webster came home in 4:40, followed by Matthew O’Neil 5:04 and Alice Webster 6:16.

In the under-14 girls race Victoria Merrick (Bingley) came home ahead of the Ilkley Harriers pair of Sarah Pickering and Tilly Melechi.

Under-14 boys: 1 Matthew Merrick (Bingley), 2 Alex Stewart ( Bingley), 3 Harry Shelbourne (Holmfirth).

Under-14 girls: 1 Victoria Merrick (Bingley) 2 Sarah Pickering (Ilkley Harriers), 3 Tilly Melechi (Ilkley Harriers).

The under-16s did two laps of the one-mile course and the boys’ winner was Harry Muir (Wharfe dale), from Eddie Hinchcliffe (Holmfirth) and Robert Thompson (Keighley & Craven).

Phil Dean trophies are awarded annually to the first boy and girl from Ilkley Harriers in each age category.

This year’s winners were:

Under-10: Joe Bramham Butts and Poppy Anderson.

Under-12: Robbie Matthews and Bethan Morley.

Under-14: James Pickering and Sarah Pickering.

Under-16: Jack Cummings and Lucy Haines.