OTLEY’S MP has revealed who he nominated in the Labour leadership contest.

Five MPs have made it to the next round in the bid to become the party’s new Leader - Lisa Nandy, Rebecca Long Bailey, Jess Phillips, Keir Starmer and Emily Thornberry.

Alex Sobel (Lab, Leeds North West) ended up nominating Ms Thornberry - and Rosena Allin-Kahn in the deputy leader contest - ‘to ensure both were on the ballot paper’.

He is yet to decide, however, who he will actually back for the top job. Posting on Twitter, he said: “I have nominated Emily Thornberry who I have found formidable at the despatch box and incredibly knowledgeable. I have not decided who I will support and will continue to listen to all the leadership candidates before making a decision.”

Mr Sobel is supporting Angela Rayner’s bid to become Deputy Leader.