UNCERTAIN weather and a much worse forecast greeted the competitors in David Payne’s President’s Day at Otley Golf Club.

A steady drizzle and a brief thunderstorm later ensured that they were grateful for the refreshments provided by the ladies at the halfway house.

The occasion had begun on the preceding evening when members and guests enjoyed a superb dinner, along with a musical cabaret provided by members of the Leeds Amateur Operatic Society.

Included was an address by the president, who spoke positively about club matters and the triumphs on the course during the preceding 12 months.

At the well-attended prize presentation, he thanked everyone who had helped in making the day so memorable and presented Roy Dawson with the President’s Prize as part of a total of 15 prizes.

They were – President’s Prize, R Dawson, 43 points. First Division: T Caton, 40, D Firth 40. Second Division: D S Thompson 40, R Clark-Coates 39. Third Division: K Wheelhouse 36, C M R Hall 36. Seniors: J C Wikeley 38. Juniors: D Clark-Coates 38. Nearest the Pin – Division One: D Holder. Division Two: S Ettenfield. Division Three: K Wheelhouse. Ladies – First Division: A Wilson. Second Division: P Lee. Third Division: E Tolchard.

Ladies’ vice-captain Jane Hawke joined forces with Isobel Denmark and Jenny Shaw to secure a relatively comfortable victory in the Ladies’ Am-Am Stableford.

Result: 1 I Denmark, J Hawke, J Shaw, 80 points; 2 J Redfern, P Tomkinson, S Weatherall, 76; 3rd S Sunderland, W Varley, S Whittington, 73. Nine holes Am-Am Stableford winners: P Joule, J Thompson, V Wray, 27.

Some good scoring resulted in eight players having their handicaps reduced following the gentlemen’s mid-week stableford. Kevin Connolly won the event with 41 points – two more than junior member Dan Clark-Coates in second.