Ilkley Dynamo 4 Milford 0

Dynamo reached the final of the Wharfedale & District FA Sunday Cup for the first time since 1984 after defeating a highly-competitive Milford side in a well-supported semi-final at the West Holmes, on Sunday.

Dynamo, who won the cup in 1982 and 1984 but were beaten in the 1983 final, would love to end their 29-year wait to lift the trophy again.

Honours remained even for most of the first period with both teams having attempts at goal without providing the decisive finish.

The Dynamo goalkeeper, Rob Powell, made a couple of crucial saves while Darren Munday and Michael Bloom, both gave inspired performances at the heart of the home side's defence.

After the break, Dynamo stepped up the momentum with an injection of confidence and some unrelenting pressure on a resolute Milford team. Eventually their resistance was broken when Phil Thommesen opened the scoring with a powerful effort after an impressive forward run from midfielder Danny Kenna.

The hard working Danny Bryan also helped to drive the team forward before the leading marks- man Thommesen added a second, his 16th goal of the season, to give Dynamo a vital 2-0 lead.

Once again James Winward made an influential contribution which was key to his team’s success.

He helped to keep the home side in control before two late goals scored by the very effective Chris Holmes, sealed Dynamo’s place in the final against old rivals Yeadon Veterans who saw off the dogged Rawdon Old Boys 3-0 with goals from Danny Harrison, Danny Richardson and Lee Poole.